Patience…Really?


I took this photograph at a local park

Patience is something that I struggle with everyday. Whether it is being impatient with my brother or  getting something that I want, I can never seem to quench this thing. God mentions many thing in His Word about patience like: A hot-tempered man stirs up dissension, but a patient man calms a quarrel (Proverbs 15:18).

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer (Romans 12:12).

 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails (1 Corinthians 13:4-8).

The last verse, 1 Corinthians 13:4-8, all of you probably know. And to me, it’s the hardest to follow. Patience is a good thing, and some people are just born with it. But for me…it takes an arm and a leg to be patient. Okay, so your probably wondering why I’m writing about this topic. Well, lets just say that I have a short testimony to tell you all.

A few weeks ago, I discovered that in order to take nice portraits, I first needed an DSLR and the appropriate equipment. I had just gotten a new camera and was now on the hunt for another one. So I went to every website that I can think of to find a good deal on photography equipment. I went to Amazon, E-bay, Goodwill etc. When I looked on Goodwill I found a camera that was absolutely perfect, it was a Canon and I couldn’t beleive that the bid on it was only thirty dollars so far! So I went to my mom and told her about it. She told me that we can put a bid on it, so I bidded fifty.

I was in the lead for the first day, the second day, and the third day. But when the fourth day came around, everyone seemed to be bidding on this camera and I was no longer in the lead. 😦 I was so upset, so I started to look for another one. Again, I went to every website even Walmart and couldn’t find anything. My mom then said, “Brandy, God has been working everything out for you in photography. You should just pray about it, be patient, and He will bring what you need in His timing.”  I immediately thought patience…really? I don’t feel like being patient . But, I listened and prayed. I said, ” Lord, I know that you have been giving me blessing after blessing. And I also know that I shouldn’t even be asking for anything else right now. But I really really need (or want) this camera so badly! I will be patient and wait on you. But I can only be patient with your help, Lord.”

After this prayer, I admit, I did look on one more website :o. But after that, I left it all up to God to do. I knew that I could put all my trust in Him. He has never let me down. So, I waited and waited and waited. And about three weeks later He did something awesome.

 Three days ago, my cousin, who never ever comes around, came over to visit my family. We all thought that it was kind awkward because he never comes over to our house. So, I was in the kitchen on the computer (don’t worry I wasn’t looking for anything else…), and he and my Dad entered. I immediately said hi and he sat down at the table. We were talking about e-bay and then we suddenly got on the subject about photography. My dad told me to show him some of my pictures, so I did. He then saw a portrait I took and gave me some advice, ” You see the background? That should be out of focus so that the viewers attention will be on your subject.” I was impressed by his advice. He does photography? I thought to myself. So, I asked. He said he use to but he isn’t really into it anymore. He was also telling me that it will be a great idea for me to set up a studio in my home (which I already had planned). My dad asked him if he still has his equipment and he said yes and that he will willingly sale it to me.

My Dad and I were interested right away. Daddy asked what type of things was he planning on selling to us, and this is what he said, ” I have the the backdrop stand, a lot of backdrops, the umbrella lights, the printer, and a canon DSLR camera.” Oh. my. gosh. I was speechless. I immediately thought that the price he was about to offer to us was going to be way to expensive. My dad asked. ” How much???” and my cousin said, “Well, I’ll give it to you for $300…wait $350.”

Daddy quickly said, “We’ll take it. Get it ready to go when you can.” I was speechless :P! God has done so many things for me, but this was so fast! Faster than fast in fact. I am so happy that I was patient. Because if I wasn’t, we would have been spending more money than God had planned. But some how God put into my cousins heart to give it to me for an affordable price. God is an AWESOME God, I have know Idea who I will be with out Him.

After I had my happy rush, I went to tell my mom. She was so excited for me and said, “See, I told you God will do it. I was planning on getting you the lights and backdrop stand for your birthday! But now you have everything you need.”

So they’re you go. No matter what part of your life your struggling to be patient in, it will all pay off. And being patient isn’t a one time thing, it’s actually a daily thing. But as long as you trust God to give the strength to do this, you have nothing to worry about.

God Bless!

2 thoughts on “Patience…Really?

  1. Do you know what the original meaning of the word patience actually means in The Bible? Look up the original Greek word in The Strong’s Concordance. Patience actually means being consistent, not waiting politely.

    • Hi Lenita,
      Actually, the word patience means many things in the bible. I think that God made his word to speak different things to different people. what I got out of the verses above was to pray and wait on Him…God. But you may get a completely different message based on what God is trying to tell you. Do you see what I’m saying? 🙂
      Thank you so much for commenting!

Leave a Reply

